Monday, September 13, 2010

Savor the Moment

Author: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Berkley (Penguin)
Released: May 2010
Genre: Romance

Two of her friends and business partners are happily engaged, and Vows, their wedding planner business, is thriving. It's Laurel's turn to find love. But she's decided to take a hiatus from men and focus on her cakes. When she hotheadedly kisses Del, her friend's brother, to make a point in an argument, she re-awakens the crush she's had on him since forever - and she awakens in him feelings he never knew he had for her. As childhood friends become more than that, Laurel finds out what true love means.

This is the third book in the Bride Quartet, but I didn't get to reading the first two yet. I did play the game Vision in White, which is based on the quartet, so I had some idea of what was going on! Though you don't really need to have read the other books to enjoy this one. Nora Roberts is great at making each book part of the series but stand-along as well.

I love the style of these books. They're low-key, laid-back - perfect lazy feel-good romance stories. There are no major fights or entanglements - though Del and Laurel do get into a few arguments - and the plot line is clean and simple. In a romance like this, that's great, because you can focus on the characters and the love story without being distracted by any other details.

The characters, as always in a Nora Roberts book, are real and multi-faceted, giving the story dimension and credibility. I like series like this one, where characters from the previous book show up. In this quartet, it happens all the time, since the four friends are involved in a business together. What made it even more exciting was that the seeds for the fourth romance are planted in this book! The friendship between the four friends brings them all together, and this interweaving of their stories strengthens the tie between them.

No comments:

Post a Comment